The Fountain Tarot Review

This deck feels like a breezy, blue-skied day with freezing temperatures. It’s cold in that pure, clean way. Do you know what I mean?

I’ve been working with this deck for a while and the best word I have for its energy is “spacious.” Not like big echoing hallways, but like light years between planets. Fucking expansive.

I love this deck.

0416161457a

The first thing I’d like to talk about is this deck’s extra card: The Fountain.

Unnumbered but for an infinity symbol, it’s the 22nd card in its Major Arcana.

0416161502

I’ll admit I was offended at first. I mean, who the fuck just adds a major? Who do these people think they are?

But then I read its description in the guidebook. It’s under and behind everything, that breath between The World and The Fool, the escape from the cycle, and now I wish all decks had it.

The artwork has a great style, combining organic human forms with hard geometrical shapes. It has a nice balance between light colored and dark colored cards.

There are too many decks out there populated by skinny blonde hipster humans, and thankfully, this is not one of them.

1460843194907705137366

Here are some of my favorite majors:

0416161503

While the images on the cards are very emotive, I would never use this deck for a relationship or “love” reading. Why? It doesn’t really give a fuck. It’s just so big and ancient that it’s not even that it doesn’t have time for your little bullshit, it’s that it doesn’t even notice it. This shit is a direct line to the Source, and you had better have one hell of an important question of you’re going to interrupt its work. It’s not pompous, it’s just busy.

Here are some of my favorite minors:

0416161505

The cardstock is good. Not too flimsy, not too hard, and the size is…normal. I don’t really know what to say about cardstock unless I have something to bitch about. The silver edges on the deck are a great touch.

So…do you need this deck? Yep.

Where can you get it? Right here.

0416161506-1

But your question had better be fucking important.

3 thoughts on “The Fountain Tarot Review

  1. Kay says:

    LMFAO. I laughed so hard when you said an extra major arcana I was like wtf. In any event, great website and blog betch.

    Like

  2. Katzi says:

    Love your review! Expansive? Hell yeah it is. No fucks given to relationship/love readings? Indeed!

    I’ve experienced the coldness from this deck before and I loved it. It felt like a tough love/real talk moment coming from a place of pure love but also like it would cut me if I crossed it. It’s brutally honest and I love that about this deck. The Moon card from this deck is my everything, along with the Three of Swords. Ugh. If I could live inside that Moon card, I would.

    I also would like to point out that every time I see the Seven of Coins, I always think of Gordon Ramsay…?

    Like

  3. […] deck has a sprawling, spiralling mass to it, almost similar to what I said about The Fountain Tarot. If the Fountain Tarot is “as above,” the Wildwood is, “so […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

