Crystals and Tarot

There are 78 tarot cards.

Thousands of decks.

Billions of crystals.

So how the hell do you know what crystals to use with your tarot readings?

The short answer is this: you fucking don’t. Seriously. You just pick some and go.

All I can tell you about that is how I, personally, pick some and go. I go about it different ways.

 

Does the deck I’m using have a favorite?

That might seem like a crazy ass question, but…does it?

0302160926

My Deviant Moon deck won’t tell me shit unless it has its trusty little clear quartz point with it.

0302160918-1

 

My Antique Anatomy Tarot is a weird little magpie. It sort of collects odds and ends that it decides it likes to have close. Its current accessories are both of these quartz points, my solid copper pendulum, and this button. (I think the button is abalone.) Any time I use this deck, its shiny little stash is also present.

 

Is there a theme to the deck I’m using?

Another potentially insane question: is there an elemental (or otherwise) theme to my deck that crystals might be able to enhance?

Example one:

0302161329-1

This is the Cephalopod Tarot. Obviously, it’s watery as shit, so some watery crystals work great with it. Pictured are a blue fluorite point and a chunk of amazonite.

Or…

0302161324

How about the Wooden Tarot? Earthy as all hell. Here I have smoky quartz, petrified wood, and jasper with it.

 

What kind of a reading am I going to do?

Is there something specific you’re asking the cards that crystals might be able to help out with?

For a relationship/love reading, I would probably grab either some rose quartz or some green crystals to connect to Anahata (the “Heart Chakra”).

0302161340-1

Or a full moon reading might need some selenite or moonstone.

0302161241a-1

Moon Phases Oracle

Is there anything you, the reader, need during this reading?

Is it Samhain? Are you trying to channel or connect with something? You’ll probably need some protection.

0302161348-1

Black obsidian, smoky quartz, hematite, rutilated quartz, and black tourmaline are all good crystals to use to keep yourself safe during potentially “dangerous” readings.

Maybe you’re working with the cards to try and hone your intuitive powers.

0302161335a-1

I like to use amethyst, celestite, or sodalite.

This is a lot of bullshit and I don’t know.

Just use some damn clear quartz then.

0302161356a-1

2 thoughts on “Crystals and Tarot

  1. Mo says:

    pretty useful stuff, thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

